Boyfriend

I was out with my son on Sunday spending some mother son time.  We had lunch and then went home.  Later in the day I drove him to the movies to meet a friend.  It was a great day until………I asked one question.  The question was……will you let me know when you have a partner?

He then tells me he has a boyfriend for just over a month.  I shouldn’t have been driving at this time.  His name is Karen (not his real name) and he is currently thinking about a boy’s name.

I asked James why he didn’t tell me at lunch since we were chatting?  I ask him every day is there anything new, wild, or exciting to tell me.  Every day he says no. He tells me that I didn’t ask the right question.  In my head, I am thinking seriously???

I had to add in that his boyfriend would more than likely like him to brush his teeth every day and take a shower/bath at least every second day.  This was the mom coming out in me.  James has always been a bit lazy about this – to my dismay.  At this James rolled his eyes at me.  Okay, I might of asked for that.

I asked James how long has Karen knew he was trans?  James in turned, ask how long have I felt like a girl?  Point taken, I told him.

I asked James if we should have a sex talk.  He told me that was only 13 years old plus in grade 9 and he learnt everything in school. If there was anything he needed to know, please let me know.  Google is the way he is going to find out any questions and not to his mom.  I was a hurt but I understood.  He is too smart sometimes.

Author: transchildren

I am a 47 year old female mom with 2 great sons. This is our story about a transgender child. I have lots to learn. I look forward to this adventure.

Leave a Reply

