Pride

I have been to Pride a few times before but I have never went with James dad or James.  It was amazing to see how both of them reacted.  I think it was a sensory overload for both of them.  James brother did not come as he was not comfortable and that was ok.

James was like a kid in a candy store.  I am not too sure what James dad was thinking. He is a very quiet guy.  I am so proud he did this with us.

We did start at Allan Gardens which was the Trans “area”.  He got a few free buttons and was happy.  As a parent, I was hoping to receive more information and support tips or groups.  I will have to be more active about this.

James was so excited and overwhelmed plus full of curiosity.  He saw his first drag show. We had to stand on the sidewalk as you had to be 19 to get onto the patio.  This was ok though because we could see and hear  We stayed hear a long time.

We walked around a lot.  We tried to get into a few places but you had to be 19 to get in. We finally got a seat in a restaurant called the Church St. Garage.  They were super nice to us and found us a table.  It was not a problem that James is under 19.  The bonus was that there were Drag Queens performing.  On a side note, they are so talented and amazing.  We all could have watched them for hours.

The 3 of us actually marched in the TransMarch.  It was so overwhelming for me as a mom to see people on the side of the street holding signs and crying.  It was something that I have never experienced before.  It was very emotional. I felt really good about marching plus marching with my son.  It was amazing how many parents said they were proud of us.  I thought this rather odd, after all, James is my son.  I find it amazing how parents can disown their kids just because they are trans.  Sigh.

James teacher and a few of her friends meet us for the  TransMarch.  I thought this was amazing how a teacher can be so supportive of a student.  This teacher will always stand out for us as a family plus it made a HUGE impact on James.  In a previous blog, I believe I mentioned that James class did a project with OISE.  One of the people that James met at OISE marched with us.  I was so thrilled that all these people took time out of their lives for my son.  All these people support him.  AMAZING is all that I can say.

James had so much fun that he arranged for his friends and himself to go the rest of the weekend to Pride.

This was a wonderful day spent together.  It was so nice seeing Pride through the eyes of James.  I am sure there will be many more Pride celebrations for him.

On a side note, I wished there were more things that a family could do.  We found it disappointing that you had to be 19 to get into places.  I think I will have to do more research next year or ask people.

James comments – I found it a bit discouraging that people hate on trans people who perform as Drag Queens. It was very cool seeing the Queens perform and they are so talented. I was happy that all these people came out to support me plus marched with me.  I want to go next year. I enjoyed going with my friends more than my family. 

 

Author: transchildren

I am a 47 year old female mom with 2 great sons. This is our story about a transgender child. I have lots to learn. I look forward to this adventure.

Leave a Reply

