Asking For Help

As I said this is in no order, mainly because I forgot the chain of events.  I guess this is because so many things happened in such a short period of time. I am also old.  LOL

When I was doing research where to ask for help I decided to call CTYS.  I called CTYS because my other son has a counsellor from there.  The counsellor my other son has is amazing and was hoping for another great experience. This is where I learnt of the parent support group that meets once a month, counselling for family, counselling for James, etc.  The experience dealing with them on this issue was ok.  I was hoping for a better experience.

CTYS was helpful but I really needed more information and help to sort everything out.

James dad and myself go to the parent support group which is run by parents and CTYS.  We are on the wait list for a course in September.  We meet with someone from CTYS to see if we qualify for family counselling and James could get counselling.  It turns out we were not qualified for family counselling because there were no issues in the home regarding James.  This was disappointing.  CTYS also explained counselling for James and he wasn’t interested at the time.  I believe this is still an option for him when and if he decides he wants counselling.

When I told a few people from work, it was amazing the support.  A lady I work with is a friend with a family that is going through the same adventure/experience.  She connected us.  She was very helpful at answering my questions.  She said that if I need anything else, please call or email her.  I thought this was so nice of her.  She really helped me out.

I remembered I know a trans.  I wasn’t friends with him but I knew him enough to say hi to and to make small talk with.  He has always been so nice.  I sent an emailing apologizing if I am intruding on their life.  He helped me by talking and emailing me.  He is were I got some of the wording for the email that I sent out to close family and friends.  I don’t think I really acknowledge when he transition and now I feel terrible.  I was ignorant.  I hope he will forgive me one day. To this day he says if I have any questions, don’t hesitate to contact him.  This is so amazing of him.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

To this day, James dad has not done any research.  He still believes it is a phase.  Many people are giving him advice.  I know he has to do with what he feels comfortable with.  I just wished he stopped listening to so many people. He needs to listen to himself and what he thinks and feels.

James comment – I think it’s nice for people helping my mom with me being trans. I am happy my parents are going to a support group so the can understand things a bit better.

Author: transchildren

I am a 47 year old female mom with 2 great sons. This is our story about a transgender child. I have lots to learn. I look forward to this adventure.

1 thought on “Asking For Help”

Leave a Reply

