Sick Children’s Hospital

I will be putting two visits at Sick Children’s Hospital in one post.

Initial visit to the Gender Clinic.  We (James and I) meet with the Social Worker.  The Social Worker introduced the Doctor who will be seeing us.  The Social Worker told us the next step would be injections of the medicine leuprorelin. She gave us some information about it and said on our next visit we should tell them if we would like to proceed.  If I am correct, the medicine will stop James from going through female puberty.  They also explained on the next visit James would be having a physical which would in tale looking at his development of breast and pubic hair.  The clinic needs to know how far along he is in puberty.  They also gave us a requisition for blood work and X-ray on his hand.  Both of these also tell them how far along in puberty he is.  Asked if we had any questions.  It was a very short visit but informative.

Before our next visit to Sick Children’s Hospital we (James, James dad, and myself) all looked over the information about leuprorelin.  James was not happy it was an injection but thought he could suck it up.  James is totally in for this.  I have my doubts and his dad is not in agreement.  He finally agrees with resistance.

Next visit to Sick Children’s

The doctor looked at James pubic hair and breast development behind a curtain while I was in the room.  I think the Social Work was in the room behind the curtain as well.  James was really good at this.  Like any other kid, he was nervous about this.

The doctor and Social Worker asked if we looked over the information for leuprorelin and and asked if we had any questions. Things were going along well until the doctor handed me the prescription.  I could feel my eyes tear up but I held it back.  It really hit home more when he handed the prescription to me.   I know this is silly but it was a terrible moment for me.  James was ok with it.

The doctor told us for the next three months once a month he will be getting this injection.  We can go to our family doctor or a clinic to get it done.  Luckily, we have a friend that knows how to give needles.

We have a follow up visit in three months with the doctor.  Before we go in October, blood work has to be done.

James comments – he said he was nervous for examination and hated the idea of a needle. He was excited to start the process and transitioning even more.  

Author: transchildren

I am a 47 year old female mom with 2 great sons. This is our story about a transgender child. I have lots to learn. I look forward to this adventure.

Leave a Reply

