Shopping

James was so excited when we went shopping for some boys clothes.  He was going to Ottawa for a school trip and need some new clothes.  I was dreading this day.  I put on a happy face because I knew James was excited. This was our first shopping trip since he came out.  Sigh

We had to buy a binder, shorts and t-shirts.  For the binder we went to Come As You Are (Come As You Are) plus Bluenotes’ (Bluenotes’).

The person at Come As You Are (Come As You Are) was truly amazing.  They helped James and I buy a binder plus a swim top.  Come As You Are is also a sex shop.  This shocked me.  James got to try on various binders plus swim tops.  I cried while James tried on binders and swim tops.  The person at the counter understood which was amazing. This was a wonderful experience. The person at the counter said it was so nice to see a parent coming with their child.  I did ask them many questions about binders and swim tops which they answered without hesitation.  This was a very good experience.  We will have to go back again to buy more binders.

Next was lunch at The Burger’s Priest (The Burger’s Priest).  It was nice to have lunch with James, as we don’t get to have lunch together.  At lunch we talked about our experience at Come As You Are.

Onto Bluenotes’ (Bluenotes’) now for shorts and t-shirts. James headed right to the boys section and within minutes found shorts and t-shirts.  I made him try them on.  He was so excited and in his element. We ended up buying him shorts, t-shirts and a bathing suit.

He was exhausted from shopping so we went right home.  He showed his dad all his new items with excitement.  I went to my room and cried.  I guess because it was real.  I know this sounds silly but it hit me hard.

Later that night James dad and myself went out for gas and I told him how hard it was for me. When I was telling James dad about the day, the tears came out again.  I was morning the lose of my little girl but gaining a son.

This was such an emotional day but it was so nice to see James so happy.  He has found himself and is comfortable with himself.  I am so proud of him.  I think it is hard for people to be comfortable with themselves never mind being trans.  I am still learning to be comfortable with me as a 47 year old women.

James comments – he said that was a good day because he finally got some boys clothes of his own. He use to “borrow” his older brothers tops. We also wondered where they all went.  He could finally dress the way he wanted and was very comfortable. He enjoyed the day very much.

Author: transchildren

I am a 47 year old female mom with 2 great sons. This is our story about a transgender child. I have lots to learn. I look forward to this adventure.

Leave a Reply

