Coming Out

On April 27, 2016 is when my son came out.  It was one of the hardest and confusing days of my life.

I was home from work because I wasn’t feel well, I opened my bedroom door and saw something taped to my door.  I instantly thought, oh shoot I forgot to sign a permission form.  I looked closely at the note and in his writing it said for mom and dad.  I opened the note and I was stunned.  I must have read the note at least a dozen times.  The note was very well written.

The note said, “I could not tell you this in person because I was afraid of what you might say or do so I decided to do this in a note.  I am trans gender which means I feel like a boy on the inside and out.  I know this might be a lot to take in but I hope you can accept me like this and get used to it.  I wanted it to keep it short so it’s easier to take in.

-from your loving son James”

After reading the note, I called my best friend to talk about it. Then I texted James .  The text said, “I love you.  I am proud of you.  We will talk when you get home.  Xoxo.”

He wrote back “You too.  See you when I get home.”

Author: transchildren

I am a 47 year old female mom with 2 great sons. This is our story about a transgender child. I have lots to learn. I look forward to this adventure.

Leave a Reply

